Being Real

I will be completely honest. I did not want to return to work after my son was born.

I never saw myself as the SAHM type…I’ve always enjoyed getting out and about with other people. But my baby boy totally changed all of that.

I have never liked working weekends and holidays…who does? But before Monkey was born, I dealt with it, and we always managed to work around my crazy schedule. At the time I was working night shift. I thought this wouldn’t bother me as much when I came back to working the day shift. I was wrong…I wanted to be there for all of my son’s first holidays, whether he knows what’s going on or not! I missed Easter. I’m going to miss Thanksgiving. Thank heavens I won’t miss Christmas.

In the last 7.5 months since I went back to work, I have tossed around the idea of cutting back to a PRN job. Reason? I make my own schedule, and I’d only have to work one holiday a year, and it doesn’t have to be a major holiday either. Plus, I could be home with my child much much more. True enough, I only work three days a week right now…but its all 12 hour shifts…I leave at 6 am, and don’t get home until 8pm, and I have very little time to spend with my baby on workdays. Then on my days off, I feel like I have so much catching up to do in the house…its a never ending cycle.

I also think it would help my son to have a set routine. I noticed when we were on vacation, he usually got up about the same time, we do things at certain times, and take naps without any of the problems we’d been having before. I think he really gets confused at times. When he’s with me, I let him wake us up, and we go from there. On daycare days, JB gets him up bright and early and takes him to the nursery, and I’ve noticed on those days he never follows any kind of routine. I’m very seriously considering this. And no, its not because I had a rotten day at work…This has been on my mind for a long time now. I think I would like for us to really sit down and discuss this one more time.

Speak Your Mind!

