We got Flocked!

This morning, as I was getting Monkey’s breakfast ready, I glanced out the dining room window. I was thinking it was a very lovely day for me, my son, and my mom to wander around at the crafts show.

I noticed the people across the street setting up for their daughter’s birthday party, and noticed that our Bradford pear tree (which up until today I really was beginning to think was nothing more than a dead stick in the ground) had a couple blooms on it.

Then I suddenly realized there was a flock of four pink plastic flamingos standing in our front yard.
I went to the window to get a closer look, and I knew these were the very same flamingos that I saw yesterday at a nearby home. I remember thinking then as I drove past that house that it was rather tacky πŸ˜‰ JB swore up and down it just had to be his best friend playing a prank, but a call to said best friend let us know he was as in the dark as we were. I’m getting a little freaked, because I knew this meant someone was lurking around our house during the night to put these things up.

JB walked outside to take the flamingos down, and a few minutes later, he came back in with a laminated note that had been tied with ribbon around the neck of one flamingo. Turns out, these things are going around town for the local Relay for Life chapter! If the flamingos come to your house, you donate $15 to have them picked up, $5 more assures you they don’t come back πŸ˜‰ Apparently, after I saw them yesterday, the flock of flamingos visited three other homes in our neighborhood before coming to visit us. We decided to send them to the best friend’s house πŸ™‚

As my mom and I were coming home from the crafts show, I saw the flamingos in yet another front yard!

Pretty nice idea…I’m sure its raising quite a bit of money for Relay for Life!

Speak Your Mind!

