We’re Home!

Well, we are home and Monkey is recuperating from surgery. He did fairly well, I think. We actually got home yesterday afternoon.

We checked in at surgical care, and they called us back to get him ready around 9:20 am. From there, we were taken to pre-op, where he was able to color until the anesthesiologist came. He talked to us about what he was going to do, and then it was time to go. The nurse picked him up, and when he realized we weren’t following, he started crying and calling for me…which of course, completely broke my heart, and as soon as the door closed behind them I just broke down.

After JB and my mom calmed me down, we were then taken to the surgical waiting room…15 minutes later, the doctor came in to tell us he was finished, our son was fine, and once he was awake we could see him. 15 minutes!!

A little bit after that, we were taken to the room on pediatrics where he would be staying. The recovery nurse was holding him, and he was crying…one thing I was worried about was him waking up in a room full of strangers. She gave him to me as soon as I got to him, and he calmed down. He raised his head up to look at me, and his nose was bleeding…I found out this was to be expected, but at the time it scared me to death!

He was pretty much in and out of sleep until around 2 p.m. After that, he was wide awake and *very* grumpy, and *very* demanding. I think he caught on pretty fast that we would do anything to keep him from crying, because every time he cried his little nose would bleed.

Needless to say, I was exhausted by the time we decided to go to bed…I was even more exhausted the next morning, because we had a very rough night. If he wasn’t woke up by the nurse checking vitals, he woke up every few hours on his own, coughing and crying, refusing to drink anything, nose bleeding. I was awake most of the night, listening to him, or fixing the pulse ox monitor when he pulled it off his finger in his sleep.

I wasn’t overly thrilled with the care he got while in the hospital, to be honest. The nurse he had the first day poked her head in the door (and trust me, that was about it) maybe three times the whole day. Around 4 pm, a student nurse came in…she gave him more attention than anyone else did. By 7 pm, he was really complaining about his IV site hurting him…he wasn’t getting anything through it, and the doctor had said it could come out that night anyway, so when the student came back I asked if we could get it taken out. She went to ask his primary nurse, who came in a few minutes later, telling me (like I’m a total dummy) that she would take it out, but I needed to remember that if anything happened and he needed medicine he would have to be restuck. I was quite irritated by that point, and I just told her that I was aware of that, but he was eating, drinking, and using the bathroom just fine (which she’d have known had she ever bothered to glance at the IandO sheet I was keeping) and that we’d cross that bridge if we came to it. That got me a fairly nasty glare, but I really didn’t care.

His night nurse was somewhat better. I know she did check on him every couple hours, because she managed to wake me up almost every time she came in…not that I was sleeping too soundly anyway. The second time he woke up screaming, I sent JB to the nurses desk to ask for something for pain. He came back to the room with a cup of ice, and said they’d bring him something if they had to, but they wanted us to try something cold first. I almost hit the roof…he was groggy, confused, in a strange place, with a very sore throat, refusing to drink anything, and they gave us a cup of ice. I dug out the bottle of Tylenol that I had brought, and managed to get him to take it, and he slept another few hours.

The nurse he had yesterday wasn’t a whole lot better. She finally came to his room about 9 am. I understand she probably had quite a few patients other than my son, but when I worked on the floor and I knew I might not be able to do a full assessment on a patient for another hour or two, I at least would check in at every room first thing, if nothing else to say hello and make sure they were okay until I could get caught up. But that’s just me, I guess. Anyway, when she came in, she asked how his night was…I was honest, and I told her that he’d had a rough one. I also told her at that time that he was telling me his throat was really hurting…to which she said she could give him something. Two hours passed, during which time the doctor and the PA came in, saying he could go home, with an antibiotic and pain medicine. When the nurse came back (without pain medicine, might I add…but its okay, because by then I got fed up and gave him Tylenol myself) she had me sign his discharge papers.

During all this, a friend of mine who works at the hospital came in to visit…I made a comment that my son suddenly seemed to shy away from anyone wearing scrubs. My friend said that might not be a good thing since his own mommy has to wear scrubs everyday…it was then that his nurse asked me what I did for a living. I don’t make it a habit of volunteering the fact that I’m a nurse when I’m in a patient type situation, for the simple fact that attitudes toward me suddenly change, and I don’t like that. (Yes, nurses often make the worst patients, but I suppose we also make the worst patient’s moms too.) All of a sudden, she couldn’t seem to do enough for me.

Once we got home, he was completely different. I’ve only had to give him that pain medicine one time yesterday, and he’s still eating and drinking very well. He’s still a little grumpy at times, but I guess that’s to be expected. He’s done so much better since we have been in our own home. He’s all set up in the living room, with tons of toys & movies. Last night he slept in his own room, and even though I had the monitor turned all the way up, he hardly made a peep all night. No snoring! For the first time in a year, he’s slept all through the night; for the first time since he was about 9 months old, he’s slept quietly!

Speak Your Mind!

