Feeding Issues

Diva’s eating habits are really beginning to frustrate me. I’m probably going to call the pediatrician’s office tomorrow morning because I’m at a loss of what else to try. She refused to nurse, and as a result I could never develop a decent milk supply. Until a couple days ago, she was eating 2-3 ounces every 3 hours on the dot.

She’s still wanting to eat every 3 hours. No problem there…but she’s always been such an incredibly slow eater, it takes her absolutely forever to finish a bottle. Since yesterday, she’s been falling asleep after just one ounce, and it takes a long time for me to wake her back up to finish eating. Today, she has done this with every feeding, and it takes well over an hour just to get her to take 3 ounces.

Another thing that is concerning me…late this afternoon (naturally, after the pediatrician’s office is closed) I changed her after she strained and grunted and turned beet red…there was a little bit of blood in her diaper. Not a lot, but enough to worry me. She seems okay otherwise, but the spots of blood and her sluggish eating over the last two days is enough to warrant me making the paranoid mom call.
******************
She only went two hours between feedings, which was perfectly fine by me…and she ate almost 3 ounces (in a decent amount of time!) and afterwards, I changed her diaper and there was not one spot of blood in it. I feel a whole lot better now, but I’m still going to be watching her like a hawk.

Speak Your Mind!

