Birthday Suit

I got a little bit of a shock this morning.

I woke up around 3 am, almost positive that I had heard someone calling out “Mama”. I didn’t get up right away, but after hearing nothing for a few minutes, I got up to look around. I knew I’d never get back to sleep unless I had checked on the little ones.

Monkey sleeps with his door open. As I walked by, I peeked in his room and saw that he was still asleep. In my own sleepy mind, I registered that something looked a little strange in there, but I walked on to Diva’s room anyway. She sleeps with her door closed (I guess it’s easier for her to get up and play dress up in the wee hours of the morning without the parental units knowing.) I opened her door, carefully tiptoed through the mess that is her bedroom, and looked over her in the bed. She was fast asleep.

Okay. At this point, I’m thinking that I must have just heard “Mama” in a dream or something. (Earlier in the night I had another one that completely freaked me out, which might be why I’d woken up so easily). So I leave Diva’s room and I am on the way back to bed, and I suddenly detoured back through Monkey’s room. It was then that I realized what had struck me as strange when I had first looked in on him.

He was totally in the buff. No covers. Nothing. Nada. Just like the day he was born, except about 37 pounds heavier and 6 years older.

I had no idea why my son had decided to sleep this way, and at 3 am I was certainly not going to wake him up to discuss it. So I covered him with the blanket and went to bed. This morning, I asked him about it. You know what the little goober said?

Monkey: “I’ve just gotten used to sleeping that way.”

Me: “Since when?”

Monkey: “Since Monday.”

Alrighty, then.

Speak Your Mind!

