2/2/08

I posted an update on my myspace blog about all the tests, and I totally forgot to come back here and update too. My memory just isn’t what it used to be!

All the bloodwork came back normal. They have ruled out anything wrong with the liver, or any ‘structural’ problem (such as me coughing myself into a cracked rib from my recent bout with bronchitis). They tell me the gallbladder ultrasound looked normal as well (no gallstones visualized).

Here’s the kicker: gallstones don’t always show up on ultrasound. So basically, I was told to wait and see. If I have another episode, I need to get somewhere so they can scan me and see it while it’s happening. If ultrasounds are still normal, then they’ll order a HIDA scan…which will be the definitive result. It’s usually pretty expensive to do, that’s why they are holding off on it until its necessary. Luckily, it’s been nine days since I had even the slightest twinge of pain, so I’m hoping it won’t come to that.

On the job front: the position that I recently applied for was basically phased out. My unit has started a new thing in the last few weeks and we now monitor and do stress tests on our pregnant patients. As it turns out, the job I applied for was basically that in the original department…but since my unit now does that, there was no need for that position anymore. So I’m sticking it out a while longer where I am. I guess maybe I’m too picky…I want certain hours, and I can’t leave for anything much less than I make now. I’m not leaving a 12 hour shift job for another 12 hour shift job, thats what it boils down to. And for the record, I love what I do…I’m just a point in my life when the hours I keep are not working well for my family’s life.

Speak Your Mind!

