Saturday morning geek

A few weeks ago, my mom asked me if I wanted to go to a little seminar with her on March 1st. It was a genealogy seminar.  Me, being the geek that I am, said sure, I’d go with her.

Ten years ago, I endlessly made fun of my mother because she had developed this hobby of finding out everything she could about dead people she said were our family members. She suddenly became a cemetery hopper. She would drag all these papers with her to family reunions. I just didn’t get what could possibly be so interesting about it at all.

When I was expecting our first little bundle of joy, I was placed on bedrest…supposedly just for a few weeks, but it turned into eight weeks and then seven weeks of maternity leave after he was born. So I was stuck at home, alone, completely bored out of my mind. After I hit 37 weeks and still no baby, I wasn’t as worried about faithfully remaining confined to the bed/couch, and spent a lot of time on the computer. (yes, this would be when my computer/internet geekdom started.)

My mom called me one afternoon, and gave me a link to a genealogy site and asked me if I would go look something up for her really quick. I did, and gave her the info that I found. A few days later, in yet another fit of boredom, I went to that site again…and started typing in names that came to me. I was amazed at some of the things I found, and kept looking. Within a few weeks, I was officially a genealogy geek.

Well, that was a little over 7 years ago. I no longer make fun of my mom for her hobby. I have tons of information on my family, and my husband’s family. But to be honest, I haven’t worked on anything genealogy related in quite some time, so my husband was surprised that I was going to this seminar. He also didn’t understand the reason either, because it was technically for “beginners”…neither me or my mother are exactly beginners at this…but she did talk about a LOT of stuff that we didn’t know. So I was glad that I tagged along.

I do, however, draw the line at the cemetery hopping.

Speak Your Mind!

