Exaggeration

I’ve been  a total bum and have not had even the slightest urge to write anything here this week!

Work has been abnormally slow for almost two weeks. That just ain’t a good sign, ever. I’m worried about what next week holds…

Thursday around lunchtime, I got a call from my husband telling me not to freak out, but our daughter had fallen off of some toy on the playground and hit her head on a metal bar, and for me not to leave work because he was going to get her. How am I not supposed to freak out about that?? At almost the same time,  the daycare was calling me to tell me. The manager told me that she hit the back of her head, at just about the base of her skull, and she now had a big knot to the left of that. She mentioned there was some blood but they couldn’t figure out where it was coming from. WTF??? There were three nurses standing there with me when I was getting these phone calls…they all said later that they saw all the color completely leave my face, one of them said she thought that I was about to faint, and none of them had any idea what was going on to make me that way! I do remember feeling very nauseated and I blindly sat down in a chair that I felt being pushed to the back of my legs.

A minute after the phone call from the daycare, the ped’s office was calling me. His nurse put me directly through to him, which of course really sent me into a panic…my kid has hit her head so hard that there’s blood coming from who knows where and I have gotten three phone calls about it less than five minutes and the ped is already aware of it and telling me what I need to do and holy hell I’m stuck here at work and can’t do a damn thing. He even gave me his cell phone number so that I could call him when we were getting close to his office so he could see her right away.

I couldn’t tell you how many times I called my husband to find out where he was at with her. I was in such panic mode I could barely think straight. Finally, he called and said he was outside the hospital…I get out there and my mother was there too! Geez…this has got to be bad…wait a minute, my little girl is sitting there, smiling at me and saying “hey mama!” like nothing has happened.

Okay. So this whole thing seemingly got blown way out of proportion! The ped checked her over. She does have a knot on the back of her head. The blood was apparently coming from where she simply scraped her scalp when she hit her head. There was absolutely no signs of a concussion…but he told me to make sure to wake her up every two hours when she slept to check her to be sure.  My mother took her home and kept her the rest of the day, so I could finish out my work day.

So yeah, she is perfectly fine. My nerves were totally shot for a while though…

One thought on “Exaggeration

Speak Your Mind!

