Sick of being sick

I have been sick since late Thursday. I started getting horrendous stomach pain that afternoon at work, bad enough that I could barely even stand up straight. It never went away completely, but it eased up enough that I was able to finish the last few hours of my shift. It kept on at me all night long, and my husband said I moaned and thrashed all the way through the night in my sleep. Poor guy.

Friday morning, I woke up and the stomach pain was pretty much gone. But something new came in its place…my head was so stuffed up I could barely breathe. As the day wore on, my throat was very sore and my ears ached. That afternoon, I started running a fever of 101, something I rarely do. Well, that put a halt to my plans for girls night out that night. I spent the rest of that night huddled under a blanket feeling like death warmed over.

I woke up around 3 am Saturday morning, my entire body ached. I checked my temp and sure enough, it was back at 101. I got up and took some medicine and took up residence on the couch with my blanket. I wasn’t sleepy, since I did so much sleeping the day before, but I was really weak feeling. My wonderful husband spent the weekend going grocery shopping, doing the laundry, and picking up the house for me, so I wouldn’t have to worry about it. Saturday night, I got brave enough to go to my parents house for dinner. I couldn’t taste my mother’s lasagna for all the Chloraseptic I had sprayed in my throat, though I’m sure it was very good. When I finished eating, all I wanted to do was lie down, so I did that on their couch. Soon enough, it seemed like everybody was walking over placing their hand over my forehead saying I felt warm, but my mom’s thermometer had a dead battery so they didn’t know for sure. I was given some advil, and I went to sleep. I woke up long enough to come home, and then I took  up my spot on my own couch the rest of the night.

Sunday was much of the same. I didn’t go to church. I didn’t go anywhere. I haven’t spiked any more fevers, although I have been hovering between 99.5 and 99.8 the entire time. Considering that my normal temperature runs between 96 and 96.9, you can imagine that just a 99 makes me feel bad. My throat and ears felt much worse the whole day, and I went ahead and called myself out of work for today.

Last night was awful. I had a hard time getting to sleep for the pain in my throat and ears. I can’t remember ever having this bad of a sore throat. with it being a holiday, I’m not sure if the doctor’s office is even going to be open today or not. If it is, I’m so there. If not, well, I might have to hit the ER. Instead of getting better, it feels worse, and I can’t take it anymore!

Speak Your Mind!

