Pink

Yep. I have pink eye. Nope, I still haven’t figured out how I got it…since neither of the kids have had it and I can’t think of anyone I’ve been around that has had it recently. Its still a mystery. A pinkish-red, itchy mystery

Most of yesterday, my left eye was a little itchy. But sometimes my eyes get that way when my contacts are drying out and I need to change them. I finally took them out in the afternoon and soaked them in contact solution, and put them back in around 10 pm last night, because I was sick of wearing my glasses already. (Have I ever mentioned how much I hate wearing my glasses?) My eyes seemed to be okay at that time.

I woke up this morning around 7-ish, and realized my eye felt funny. I rubbed it a few times, and it still felt weird. I finally got up and went to the bathroom mirror to look…and quite frankly was horrified at how my eye looked. I took the contacts out, threw them away, and walked back the bedroom. My husband was awake, and I vaguely remember asking him something about pink eye, and then falling back asleep. I really was thinking at the time I had just irritated it with the rubbing and it would be fine later.

I was so wrong. When I woke up again, it felt like my eyelashes had been glued together. As I finally was able to open my eye, my husband said, “Yep, you got pink eye alright.” Ugh. I put in a call to my doctor to get some antibiotic drops, and spent the rest of the day trying to find somebody to cover my shift at work for tomorrow. (Would you want someone with pink eye taking care of you? of course not.) I finally managed that around 8 pm tonight.

So now, after several doses of the antibiotic drops, my eye is still pink and rather itchy…although my husband keeps telling me it doesn’t look as bad as it did this morning. Im not sure if he’s trying be nice or if he really thinks that, because it looks the same to me.

I have never had this crap before. I guess there’s a first time for everything.

Speak Your Mind!

