The Love Dare

In September, we celebrated our 9th anniversary with a trip to Savannah, Georgia. That’s also where we spent our honeymoon and our 1st anniversary, so it is a very special place to us.

River Boat Cruise

The day after our anniversary, and our first night in Savannah, we went to see the movie Fireproof. We had both wanted to see this movie when we first started hearing about it, and for us, that had been quite some time! The movie is very local to us, so we’d been getting little snippets of information about it as it was being filmed.

9th Anniversary

We both absolutely loved the movie, and it couldn’t have come at a better time for us. Well, actually, I would have loved it if it would have come out earlier in the year, and maybe it would have opened up our eyes and we wouldn’t have had all the difficulties that we did. But then again, maybe it was all something we just had to go through to really appreciate what we have together. By the end of the movie, I was totally in tears, and although he wouldn’t admit it I think my husband was too.

I was a little late to the party in realizing that there was a book out that was associated with the movie, The Love Dare. Yes, I know it’s in the movie, but it took a while before I paid attention to the fact that it was something that I could get. I’ve had the intentions to buy a copy for a while, but never got around to it. The other day, I had some rare free time on my hands and while shopping, decided to browse the book aisle at the store. And I found The Love Dare, and immediately picked it up. When my husband got home that night, I told him that I’d gotten it for us, and he was very happy that I did. We are going to do this together, and I’m going to try to keep up with it here.

Day One: Love is Patient. The Dare was to not say anything negative to your spouse at all. We actually sort of extended this over two days, because he had read it a day earlier than me (because of that never ending headache that I kept all weekend.) They said it was supposed be a simple Dare, but I wasn’t so sure. I’m not the world’s most patient person, and I do tend to have a really quick temper. Amazingly, we made it through two whole days of not saying one single thing negative to each other. I say its amazing, because I admit that I am often quick to snap at him for little things, like leaving his dirty clothes laying around. To be honest, there really wasn’t a moment in the last two days that I have really felt the need to bite my tongue before I said something negative to him.

Speak Your Mind!

