Welcome 2009!

It’s finally a new year! So, so happy about that.

I had to work New Year’s Eve, so I got home around 8 pm. That night, my husband built a fire just off our back porch (in the area he’s planning to build a deck over this year anyway!) and we got the kids out there…we spent the evening sitting around the fire and roasting marshmallows and making smores. This was all my husband’s idea, and I think he got it from watching an episode of Jon & Kate plus 8 the day before 🙂

It’s all fun and games until somebody gets burned, though. My daughter pulled the flattened hanger that we were using to roast the marshmallows on out of the fire a little faster than she was apparently expecting, and it swung out and caught her brother on the chin and neck. He’s got little bitty burn marks in both places…they are small, but he went ballistic. So we put the fire out, and came inside.

I was so tired, from being up early and working, and the kids and I crashed on the couch before midnight. My husband woke us up so we could watch the ball drop on TV together, and then we all went to bed. I fell asleep again listening to the neighbor’s fireworks going off.

New Year’s Day, we went to my parent’s house for dinner. Unfortunately, I started the day off with a dull headache that evolved into a pretty nasty migraine, so once we got home from there, it was a dose of migraine medicine and a nice long nap (3 hours!) for me. When I finally woke up again, the headache was blessedly gone.

Today has mostly been a clean up day for me. I’m still in the process of getting the laundry done, I have one more load to get done. I also cleaned out several drawers and cabinets in the kitchen, and various other things around the house.

All this work, means I’ll probably want to be lazy tomorrow!~

Speak Your Mind!

