A change…

Yesterday marked the end of my working girl days, at least for a while, anyway.

I have worked at the hospital for 10 years, with new mothers and newborns. It is a job that I have truly loved doing, and I can’t really imagine doing anything else in the field. When I first started working there, I was practically a baby myself, fresh out of nursing school and not even married yet! I was 22 years old, and I’ll admit it, scared to death of everything. I started working there in June ’99, took my state boards in July, and then got married in September. I worked night shift for a year after that, which I absolutely hated! After having our first child, I was bumped up to the day shift, where I have been ever since.

I have seen a lot of changes in my time there. Some for the good, some that made me want to scream. In 2003, I was so frustrated with how things were going that I left the hospital to work in a doctor’s office…a job which I liked, but it just wasn’t the same. Ten months later, I decided to go back to the hospital…only I was very pregnant at the time with our daughter, and didn’t last but a couple weeks before having her, and didn’t get much of a maternity leave because of just coming back.

In the beginning, my coworkers were simply that…coworkers. I was so shy and they were mostly older than me, so I talked to them at work and that was about it. After I’d been there a while, there were a couple girls that I became really good friends with, and eventually, we all made it to day shift together.

Mah Girls!Over the years, some of those coworkers became my best friends, a couple became the sisters I never had. We go out out together on the weekends, our kids play together, we go on beach trips together, our husbands are all friends. We are like family. I love this group of women so much, and I can’t imagine that I’ll ever find another group like them. I’m going to miss being around them all the time, so much.

Yesterday, the girls planned an all day shindig for my last day. They brought food, several brought me little gifts (photo album, a new home ornament, the video of pictures and messages, an address book that they had all put their addresses, phone numbers, and emails in.) We pretty much ate all day long! There were times when we would just start talking about random things that have happened over the years. Towards the end of the day, they started talking about how they were going to come into work some days and say how much they were going to miss my big laugh down the hallway, my grumpiness until the caffeine had kicked in, my weird sense of humor…they ’bout made me start crying! (We all agreed no tears though, we’d save that for our last GNO. THAT will be interesting, get a little wine in us, then we’ll really get going!)

Time to join the ranks of the SAHM for a while….

Speak Your Mind!

