It's gonna be a long ride home, I know

We loaded everything up in the Durango and hit the road Wednesday morning. My husband had already taken the cat to the place we planned to board him. We can get by for a three day trip with him at home, I just put out massive bowls of food and water for him and we just dump the litter box as soon as we walk in the door. But for a five day trip, we knew we had to board him somewhere. I quite enjoyed my vacation from the cat, since on a normal day I spend just as much time cleaning up after him as I do the kids. JB picked him up this morning, and so far he’s been quiet. I think maybe he thought we’d abandoned him at the lush kitty condo he spent five days in.

Oh, and can I just say that making a four hour trip with luggage and two kids in a Durango is infinitely better than doing it in a two door Jeep Wrangler? Heaven, people. Heaven.

We got to my parent’s place around 2 pm. My mom was at work, so it was just my dad there. I immediately got a text from my friend that we could FINALLY buy the movie tickets to New Moon on Fandango, which I had been trying to do all stinkin’ week, so I got that taken care of…only to cuss my mom’s printer until it worked. Then, my dad, my son, and I took naps while my husband went to pick up his medical records from his neurologist and my daughter gorged herself from my mom’s candy bowl.

When I woke up from my nap, I had a raging headache. My parents’ house is full of a multitude of smells. Its the one part I don’t care for when we visit. They have a dog, a ratty, arthritic, little chi-hua-hua that I can’t stand, and I thank my lucky stars every day that I never had to live with that dog growing up. He’s getting on in years, and as old dogs do, tends to pee in random places.  Drives me nuts. Also, my dad is a lifelong smoker, and for years he smoked in the house. It wasn’t until I got married and moved out that I realized that everything in their house had the reek of cigarette smoke. My mother? She literally has NO sense of smell, so she doesn’t notice anything. Its better now, because since my kids were born, and especially since our daughter has asthma, he takes the smoking outside…plus since he’s been retired, he’s done a lot of work on the house, like ripping out the old carpets, refinishing the hardwood floors, painting, new furniture, etc. But I still know it’s there. Some might say that’s because I have a very odd sense of smell. Maybe that’s my super power, the ability to smell damn near anything. Anyway, when they were visiting us a couple weeks ago, my dad noticed my candle warmer, and asked where he could get one. Well, he found one, and lets just say he’s definitely using it! He had this one candle burning on it that was simply killing me. He was still sleeping when I woke up, so I turned the thing off. When I got home later, they had a different candle on there, so maybe they took my hint.

The candy bowl? My mom put that out, so that the kids could eat what was left of the Halloween candy. She said she had no idea that our daughter would wait until everyone was napping to eat almost all of it. The poor kid literally crashed from the sugar high hours later, and I put the bowl away for the rest of the trip. Good intentions, Mom, but the kid will cut you for a Tootsie Roll.

Next up: This one time, at the bonfire…

Speak Your Mind!

