Tenderhearted

That’s my son. He has always been that way. Poor little guy really takes things to heart.

When he got off the bus this afternoon, I could tell by the way he walked into the house something was bothering him. I asked him what was wrong, and I got “Nothing” for an answer.

He had yet to smile, had barely even looked at me, and just took his bag and jacket off and sat down.

Oh no. “Nothing” did not sit well with me. So I kept asking.

I had to ask three more times before he finally gave me the most heartbreaking look, and then tears started flowing as he told me there were some older boys on his bus that were making fun of him.

I asked what they were saying. I was flabbergasted when he told me that they were picking on him because of his hair.

His hair?? There’s nothing wrong with his hair. It’s a little long for my taste, but he is trying to grow it longer like his best friend. He’s getting to that age, so I’m trying to let him.

Apparently, after he takes off his hoodie, his hair is messed up and it sticks up a little. He’s been wearing the hoodie or a ski cap all week since its been so cold here. At my insistence, of course. I noticed this morning, the ski cap was nowhere to be found, and now it makes me wonder if there was a reason for that.

For crying out loud! THAT is what they are picking on him about? You’ve got to be kidding me. Everybody’s hair is a little messed up after they take off a hat. Little brats!

Seeing my son stand there so upset about this having gone on all week, had that bus still been anywhere in the vicinity of our house, I was mad enough to go off on two little 5th graders. Thankfully, by the time I got this out of my son, and had calmed him down, the bus was long gone. I didn’t have to go all Mama Bear on a kid or two. Maybe my son knew that I have a tendency to have a temper and maybe that’s why he held off on telling me several minutes…lol

Kids can be so mean sometimes!

Speak Your Mind!

