What do you say to that?

If it ain’t one thing, it’s definitely another.

The kids got home from school today at 3:15 pm, and immediately my daughter put on The Face. The one that she has developed to let me know, without words, that her day just totally sucked. The last couple weeks, I have been greeted with that face as she walked in the front door several times, unfortunately. It’s usually followed by me reading in her daily journal that she was talking too much or not following directions.

Today, it was both of those things…and she couldn’t seem to stay in her seat today. Then my son started saying something about her getting off the bus at school this morning and walking inside with the principal. I asked my daughter about that, and never got a clear answer of what happened. Sometimes she still goes into gibberish mode when she’s facing trouble, and it’s next to impossible to understand much. So I gave up trying for a while, and we went to the store to pick up stuff for their Valentine’s Day parties.

It wasn’t until I was cooking dinner that I started hearing bits and pieces of what happened with the bus incident. I guess the kid she was sharing a seat with was taking up too much room, in my daughter’s opinion, and wouldn’t move over. So my wonderfully behaved child said, “I’m gonna kill you if you don’t move over!”

Um…

Ahh…

Well…

Dang.

We had a problem with her saying that to her brother a while back when she got mad at him, and I don’t think she even knew what it meant. We told her it wasn’t a nice thing to say, and we didn’t ever want to hear it come out of her mouth again. I know she certainly didn’t mean to kill him, just as I’m sure she didn’t really mean that she was going to kill this kid on the bus. But I also know that in this day and time, I’m probably very lucky I didn’t get a call from the school telling me she was suspended.

Terroristic threat from a 5 year old, ya know. Next thing you know, I’ll be the mom on the Today show telling the world my daughter is innocent. Hey, if they suspend a Cub Scout for bringing his camping fork to school, you never know.

This wasn’t written in her daily journal, and there was no other notes in her book about it. I’m just going on what she finally told me. I almost wonder if I’m going to hear more about this tomorrow. My husband said he’s going to stand out there with them tomorrow morning and talk to the bus driver before they leave for school.

Geez. I’ve said it before, but it’s always in the back of my mind…I’m not sure how I’m going to make it through her teenaged years! Heck, at this point, I’m wondering how I’m going to make through her elementary school years with my sanity intact…

Speak Your Mind!

