A Day at the Movies: Percy Jackson

Okay. It’s no secret that I’m a complete Harry Potter geek. I have gone way past the stage when I tried to pass it off as my son was the huge Harry Potter fan. We all know those movies, DVDs, and books were for me.

So I admit to getting a little giddy when I first saw the previews for Percy Jackson and the Olympians, the Lightning Thief. After all, it was ‘from the makers of Harry Potter’, or whatever. It looked cool, and I wanted to see it. My giddiness only increased when my 9 year old son started saying that he really wanted to go see it. Score!

My intentions were to take the kids to see it last Monday when they were out of school. However, our trip to the homeland and back again pretty much wore me out, plus my husband was home sick from work that day, and the kids were acting like little terrors.  No movie for you!

So today, we decided to go see it as a family. Diva seemed excited about it, even though I don’t think she even knew what we were going to see! JB, I do believe, was scouting out the other movies playing in hopes of sneaking away, but he was unsuccessful.

I’ll be honest, I pretty much missed the first 5 minutes of the movie, thanks to the oh-so-considerate people who arrived just as the thing was starting, and made the biggest production of their arrival as possible. “I can’t see!” “Mama where are you?” “I’m over here!” “Why’s it got to be so dark? I can’t see anything!” Guess where they finally decided to sit? Behind us. But of course.

I don’t want to give anything away, so no real spoilers here. I will say that the movie was great, special effects were awesome, and now I wanna read the books. (Oh, c’mon, you knew that was coming!) I had been thinking about reading them beforehand, but when I do that I’m always disappointed in the movie. The kids both loved it…although I wasn’t really expecting the couple of curse words I heard, and the old AC/DC song. You know the one. Thankfully, it all seemed to go over Diva’s head, and I just told Monkey to disregard the words he’d just heard. 😉 It does have a PG rating, and it wasn’t extreme.

I will also point this out that Uma Thurman’s Medusa character…very cringeworthy. Gah, my skin was crawling the entire time she was on the screen, and Diva had JB covering her eyes until she was gone!

I really liked it, but like I said, I haven’t yet read the book…so I have no idea what might have been left out. For all his eye rolling, I am pretty sure JB enjoyed it, too… 🙂

Speak Your Mind!

