It’s the Great Power Outage, Charlie Brown!

The ‘great power outage’ that was supposed to happen yesterday…apparently didn’t happen.

At least, not to a point that it bothered me at all.

Supposedly, they would shut it off at 9 am. I jumped up yesterday morning, got a shower, did my hair and makeup, and did some vacuuming before that happened. I saw a power company truck drive by about 8:30. I saw phone company trucks roaming the neighborhood.

By the time 9:30 am rolled around, I still had electricity, and I was wondering what was going on. I had decided I wasn’t going to rush out of the house and try to find stuff to do until I knew what the deal was. By 10 am, still had power, but then the internet connection went all wonky, and the phone line went dead. At 10:43, (yeah, I know, I was looking at the clock by this point) the power flickered off for a few minutes, and I thought that was the beginning of the outage.

I had talked about going into the city to have lunch with JB, but I had developed such a raging headache I didn’t want to drive. (Oh, did I mention the power came right back on by 10:50? It did.) I made myself some lunch, and then about 12:30 I decided to take a nap to see if I could rid myself of the semi trucks that were banging around inside my head.

I woke up a few times during my two hour nap. Twice I was alert enough to noticed the lights on the DVR were off. So maybe they cut the power while I was asleep. Who knows? The doorbell rang once, but I didn’t get up for it once I made sure I hadn’t slept past my alarm to get me up before the kids got home. I have learned that doorbell ringers during the day around here usually aren’t people I want to deal with. I don’t know people here, so I know it’s not friends dropping by, and the neighbors pretty much are all at work during the day. I rolled my hurtin’ self back over and went back to sleep.

I woke up at 2:30. Power was back on. Headache was still there. Blah. The phone lines went up and down all day, but that was the biggest problem I had.

So thanks, county, power company, and newspaper. Thanks for getting me all worked up for an 8 hour power outage for no good reason. Love ya mean it.

Speak Your Mind!

