5QF: Memory Lane

1. What was the first car you owned? My first car was a 1988 Ford Mustang. Convertible. Because that’s the perfect car for a 16 year old idiot to drive. My dad loves Mustangs and true to his history, he just drove up in it one day soon after I turned 16 and told me I could drive it. It had very low mileage because an old guy had owned it and rarely drove it. At the time, I thought it was the most awesome car ever…it was white, black top, red interior, and…wait for it…gold honeycomb rims (which I actually hated, but my dad said I was stuck with them). I thought I was the bomb driving that car around town. For no reason. Just to be seen.

I’d like to be able to say the car was really a piece of crap when I got it…but that’s probably not true. Now I know that the crapness was likely brought about by a 16 old kid who liked to drive the wheels off the thing, 90 mph up and down the back roads that I routinely took to school. I’m amazed I never killed myself…I remember many near misses.

I believe, to this day, that JB only wanted to meet me because of that car…

2. What song are you embarrassed to know the lyrics to? Alright stop. Collaborate and Listen. Yeah. Ice Ice Baby. That song was big back when I was putting around town in that super cool Mustang…

3. Have you ever had stitches? Uh, yeah. Twice. I had two babies. I’ll leave it at that.

4. What was your first job? Other than babysitting my cousin or doing unpaid work for my dad (you know, paying for room and board and that awesome car) my first job was secretary/file girl/breakfast go getter/envelope stuffer/do-girl at a small personal finance office. It was not so awesome. I quit working there to work as a cashier at a hole in the wall grocery store on a rough side of town with my then best friend. I never said I was the brightest bulb in the box when I was a teenager.

5. Who is your favorite Sesame Street character? Big Bird. I know, that’s old school when you think about ALL.THE.NEW.CHARACTERS. I had a huge stuffed Big Bird that I’ve been told I carried everywhere, for like two years when I was a kid. I had Big Bird birthday cakes and parties. Big Bird was the word. I smiled every time I saw that giant yellow bird on TV, in a store, or the rare times one of my children watched Sesame Street. Sadly, I learned a couple years ago that my precious stuffed Big Bird that I loved so much was actually given to me by my super creepy crazy uncle…and it hasn’t been the same since. (No kidding, the man stopped me on my way out of a family function, just to talk about the Big Bird I had, and he said, “You know I gave you that thing.” OMG. I called my mom later and demanded to know WHY SHE NEVER TOLD ME THAT.)

3 thoughts on “5QF: Memory Lane

Speak Your Mind!

