Unconditional

I might beat myself up from time to time about parenting mistakes I make, and believe me, there are lots of them! But without those mistakes, I wouldn’t learn anything.

Despite all my flaws and faults, I know my kids still love me unconditionally. They tell me so all the time. Okay, so they don’t use the word ‘unconditionally’. But I get it. 🙂

My handsome little boy, the sunshine of my life, has been such a caring and kind child his entire life. When he was very small, he was always worried about his mama…if I had a headache, he’d rub my head and say, “Okay Mama?” If he could tell I felt bad, he’d go to his room and bring me his favorite stuffed animal, push it in my hands and say, “All bettah Mama.” Even now, he fusses over me when I’m not feeling my best, bringing me blankets, drinks, and oh, the drawings I have been given over the years! His thing these days to cheer everyone up is to draw them pictures. He’s such a little artist, and I’m so proud of that kid.

My darling little girl, my petite princess…I have always looked at everything she’s done as, “This is the last time I’ll ever have this.” We always wanted a third child, but Diva was such a frustrating baby we put it off, and then certain circumstances led to my having a hysterectomy when I was 29. So no more bambinos for us. She makes a point to tell me 50 times a day, “Mama, I love love you!” and “You are my pretty mama!” And even as many times as we clash (because as much as I hate to admit it, she’s more like me than I ever thought), she always gives me kiss kisses and squishy huggies!

I’m always moody, I often yell too much, and sometimes run out of patience. I make them eat their veggies, I don’t always let them have ice cream for dessert, and I make them ‘clean’ their own rooms. But even with all that, my kids still seem to think I rock.

And that makes me feel pretty darn good.

Mama's Losin' It

One thought on “Unconditional

Speak Your Mind!

