The Story of Us, Part 1

Have I ever told you how JB and I met? No? After so many years, I guess I’ve kinda forgotten who I’ve told the story to. 🙂

We were born in the same hospital, in the same small, boring town. We both lived in said small, boring town our entire lives, until last October, that is.

Despite going to different schools, we both shared quite a few mutual friends. One of those mutual friends was a guy that I considered my unbiological big brother, someone I had grown up with…he was also JB’s best friend at the time. I’ll call him Tony.

Yet, until that fateful day in October 1993, I had never heard JB’s name, or had any clue who he was. How we managed to live outside of each other’s radar all that time I will never know, but I look at it as a good thing. Had I met him before I probably would have thought he was a jerk. I’ve heard stories…

Tony was about three years older than me. After he got out of high school, he went into the Navy and we didn’t get to see him too often. One day, he called and said he was at home, and asked if my brother and I would stop by to see him. Naturally, I said we would, and we drove to his house later that day.

Soon after we got there, this guy showed up. Tony introduced us to his best friend, JB. My first thought was that JB was kinda cute, in a very scruffy and slightly hungover way. Neither of us knew at that time that Tony had planned the whole thing, because he thought we “would look good together”.

(And yeah, I remember what we were wearing the day we met. I was wearing a red and white striped shirt and shorts…but I probably only remember that because it was my favorite shirt and I wore it practically all the time. JB was wearing a white t-shirt that had seen better days and ragged khaki shorts, and a 5 o’clock shadow multiplied times two. I’m sure if we’d had ANY idea we would be meeting the person we’d eventually marry that day we would have put forth a little more effort.)

I remember thinking that day that JB talked a lot. He liked my car. He was shocked to find out that he was good friends with my cousin. He thought it was crazy that I didn’t go to school with him. I left Tony’s house that day, and really didn’t think much more about it.

So no, it wasn’t exactly love at first sight.

to be continued

2 thoughts on “The Story of Us, Part 1

  1. Pingback: My first kiss went a little like this… | A Life So Lovely

  2. Pingback: Puppy Love | A Life So Lovely

Speak Your Mind!

