Scattered

This has been one strange day!

I couldn’t sleep last night (mostly because I couldn’t breathe very well, my head was all stuffy) so I finally got back up around midnight. JB hasn’t been sleeping great for the last several nights, and he was actually asleep…so I dang sure didn’t want to wake him up. I took some Nyquil, and played around on the computer until it finally kicked in. Even then, I know I looked at the clock at 2 a.m.

So naturally, I didn’t want to wake up this morning. The kids got up and had pop tarts for breakfast (again, don’t call CPS because we aren’t much on cooking breakfast around here anyway), and I listened to them playing for a little while before getting out of bed. I haven’t been to the grocery store in almost 2 weeks, so there wasn’t much to choose from…so I had pop tarts too!

Then I got to work on the grocery list. Common sense should have told me to do it last night, but I didn’t. My head was in such a fog it took me two hours to get the E-mealz menu printed out, cross off what I didn’t want to cook, come up with different meals in place of those, check Kroger’s and Food Lion’s weekly ads for sales, print and cut out coupons, and make the actual list. Scratch that, I wasn’t even finished by the time Diva came in the kitchen for the third time to tell me she was hungry. I knew I wasn’t making any headway so we went to McDonald’s for lunch (because there literally was nothing for lunch in the house) and then I drove out to the post office to get some orders in the mail. By the time we got back home, I was clear enough to finish the list, but then I went all ADD and suddenly felt the need to reorganize my coupon stash. That was something that could have waited, but I just had to do it right then and there.

Then we went to Kroger. Let me say, I hate grocery shopping period. But man, I really loathe shopping in the middle of the week, because then the stuff I want is GONE. And this Kroger store doesn’t seem to like restocking, apparently. Hence, I’m also having to go to Food Lion for things tomorrow. I’m trying to decide which one I’m going to stick with, because shopping at different stores is annoying. The kids were their usual hyper selves and more than once I had to turn around and use my Mama Voice and give them the Death Stare. But they were oddly helpful when it came time to unload the groceries and put everything away at home…scary helpful. As in, I’m wondering what the heck they want now.

They spent the rest of the afternoon playing outside. I sat in front of the sliding door in the kitchen watching them swing, play football, and get all sweaty nasty. The day has really flown by and I can’t seem to account for much of it! That’s just how scatterbrained I’ve felt all day long.

One funny thing…the kids came inside for water, and then Diva started telling me about her baby sister that died. My jaw dropped when she said that! When I found out I was pregnant with her, it was a twin pregnancy…and one twin passed just before 12 weeks. We never knew if it was a boy or a girl, obviously. It’s not something I had ever told Diva, but I vaguely remember telling Monkey about it. I’m guessing he said something to her, but where “sister” came into play I don’t know. Anyway, she has informed me that she remembers “bumping heads with her baby sister in Mama’s tummy”. Uh huh. Sure you do, dear.

The look on JB’s face at dinner when she blurted that out again was priceless, by the way.

4 thoughts on “Scattered

  1. We live 150 miles away from the closest shopping area, so we pretty-much do it all at once. Trying to shop and feeling ill at the same time is miserable. I’m so sorry you aren’t feeling well. I hope you get to feeling much better soon.

    I enjoyed the story about your daughter. I can’t entirely discount some of the things that kids say like that. I think they might have an insight that we as adults have lost.

    Take care and get well.

    ~ Yaya
    Yaya’s Home
    .-= Yaya´s last blog ..A Toothy Grin =-.

Speak Your Mind!

