Scratch that off my list of talents

Picture it…Sicily…1912.

Oh, I’m sorry. That Golden Girls rerun I watched last night is still in my head. Shady Pines, Ma!

In a land not so far away (like, the kitchen table), I set up the sewing machine that we have had for a trillion years but have hardly used.

My goal was to make my daughter a pillowcase dress. My good friend had started making them and they were just so darn cute, and she assured me they were easy to make.

Nevermind the fact that I had a) never used a sewing machine a day in my life, b) can barely sew a button back on a shirt, c) have a knack for royally screwing up things that people say should be easy, or d) ALL OF THE ABOVE!

I dragged JB and the kids all over creation looking for pillowcases to try this out on.  I didn’t want to spend much money on it because I knew the likelihood of me messing this up was relatively high…so I bought a two pack of the ugliest pillowcases in Wally World. It’s just practice right?

I spent two days with a piece of fabric, practicing stitches on the sewing machine. People, I wish you could have seen that thing by the time I was done.  It was laughable, really. Straight stitches all over the place…which were anything but straight. Places where I used the machine’s pedal much like I use the gas pedal in my truck, with a lead foot, and got the thread all knotted up. Truly sad.

For whatever reason, I deemed myself ready to break out the first pillowcase. And two days later, after butchering it to pieces, I threw it in the trash can because it simply wasn’t fit to see the light of day. But Diva was all excited about getting a “Mama made” dress, so I knew I couldn’t just quit.

Sooooo….the second pillowcase got measured and cut. I decided I was going to sew this one by hand. Not sure what made me think this was a good idea, but anyway, I spent one whole day while they were at school sewing this dress. My fingers hurt so much by the time I was done! When she got home, she was so excited to wear it. I told her she could have it for her dress up box.

This is the only picture I took of it, with my phone camera. Doesn’t look too terribly bad in this picture, does it? What you can’t see is the mismatched thread…the gapped up elastic neckline because the elastic strip kept coming out of place, and lets not even get into the bias strips around the arm holes. Up close, it’s not a pretty thing. But my girl liked it, and wore it proudly. A few days after that, I could see the threads unraveling too.

That was my last foray into the sewing world. There are some things I’m just not cut out to do, and stitchery is one of them!

Post inspired by the prompt “How long until you realized you had no talent or patience for this? Tell the story (true or fiction) of trying to learn a new talent or hobby that you only pursued briefly.”

6 thoughts on “Scratch that off my list of talents

  1. It’s great that you persevered with this. I also have no idea how to sew on a sewing machine and all my sewing is done by hand. The dress looks adorable. I bet Gabbie will love wearing this handmade token of love.

    As for me, I married a bridge master, so I briefly tried to master the art of playing bridge. Keeping track of a deck of cards is not my forte, so I’m afraid I gave up rather quickly.

  2. you are a lot braver than I. I think it’s cute. and as long as it’s cool to wear and you don’t worry about it getting dirty or torn, so be it.

Speak Your Mind!

