Brown Eyed Girl

Let me preface this by saying: I love and adore my daughter. I can’t even begin to imagine my life without her in it.

But there are some days when she literally drives me up the wall.

Today was one of those days! Since school has been out, naturally the kids have to tag along when I go to the grocery store (and pretty much everywhere else I go, since we I still don’t know people here. That’s because I’m slightly antisocial shy.)

The Girl feels the need to be the List Girl on these trips. Meaning she carries the list and the pen, “tells” me what I need on each aisle (yeah, I make my grocery lists by aisles, OCD much?), and marks it off. At first, this seemed to keep her occupied enough…but now, it just slows me down because she can’t read my handwriting, so I have to coerce the list out of her hands to read it myself. Then she absolutely MUST mark the stuff off right then and there, but again, she can’t really tell what it is she needs to mark off, so I have to do that too. I must have answered the same questions at least 50 times today, which happens all the time, but today she was getting some serious attitude with every word that came out of her mouth.

Days like today, I like to find the cutest picture possible of her and just gaze at it. Just to remind myself that the good days with The Girl do outnumber the bad ones. I also like to pretend that she didn’t inherit this dramatic flair from me. (That wrinkled up nose, though? That’s all me.)

Don’t think that The Boy is getting away scot free in this post…he just HAS to push the cart. *90 miles an hour* all over my toes. The jury is still out as to whether he’s actually trying to run over his sister or not.

Recently, I started longing for school to start back because they were fussing and fighting ALL. DAY. LONG.

Today, the longing was more for solo shopping trips. I miss them.

Speak Your Mind!