How’s this for vague?

It has been said that sometimes, nurses make the worst patients.

I think I am the living embodiment of that statement.

I absolutely cannot stand going to the doctor. I usually have to be pounding at death’s door before I will willingly see a doctor. I don’t know why I am this way, it’s not like I’ve had some horrible medical experience or anything. I just…am this way.

We all know (and I freely admit) that I am the world’s biggest klutz. My most recent accident was the impalement of my foot. I am STILL trying, to this very day, to live down Baby Gate ’05. Both incidents required embarrassing trips to the emergency room to explain what the heck had happened to me.

I begrudgingly go to my yearly exam that women just love so much. But really, is there anything more awful than the paper gowns and stirrups? Even though we moved four hours away, I still plan to work in that particular joyful visit along with a trip home…why on earth do I need to get acquainted with another boob and vajayjay doc? I’m done making babies. As my darling son once said, my baby basket is gone.

Nine times out of ten, if I am sick, I don’t go to the doctor. I either wait it out until I feel better, or if I think it’s something that isn’t going to just magically get better, I call the doctor and ask him to call something in for me. I usually know more or less what is going on with me, so this  works out okay most of the time.

Not this time. I’m about as lost as I can be on this one. Forgive me if it seems this next part of the post flies off into a million different directions…but that will just illustrate my point that I’m confused!

I have high blood pressure. (Thanks to my mom’s lovely genetics!) I have been taking lisinopril for it since 2007, and it was nice to have my yearly “physicals” at work without scaring the daylights out of them and having the nurses look at me in shock because I hadn’t stroked out yet. Sure, I read the side effects of the stuff, I always do…but I wasn’t having any of them so I didn’t worry about it.

A few months ago, I started noticing that I was waking up every morning with a serious case of cotton mouth. Good night, it was like the freaking Sahara desert! Well, it seemed to get better for a while, but now I feel like I have dry mouth all the time. I am constantly drinking something or chewing gum just to avoid that feeling.

I also noticed that my heart was skipping beats A LOT.

Since it had been a while since I’d actually read the side effects of the medicine I take, I googled it, and sure enough, dry mouth and palpitations are listed.

About two months ago, I decided to start cutting my dose in half to see if it helped. Don’t worry, I was keeping a watch on my BP the whole time 🙂 My pressures were good, the heart flutters decreased, but the dry mouth was still a problem.

Two weeks ago, I tried cutting the pill into 4ths, which naturally didn’t work out so well. Obliterated pill. So last week, Tuesday, in fact, I stopped taking the lisinopril altogether. If you are wondering why I was initially trying to stop it slowly…I have weird problems coming off medications I’ve been taking for a while. At one time, I would forget to take my BP pill, and it would make me feel awful for days afterward. So I chose to do this while JB was with me in case I did anything weird. I was surprised to have absolutely no problems with not taking the pill all week.

Uh, yeah. I should have known better. This is me, we’re talking about.

I have felt  so completely OFF this week. I spent the weekend in pain from stupidly climbing up to the top of the Tybee Lighthouse. I woke up Tuesday with an aching ear and a slightly sore throat, so I thought I was getting sick. By that night, I was starting to worry myself, because my chest felt tight. It was exactly a week since my last BP pill, and I obsessively checked my BP during the day and it was always fine.

Yesterday, I thought I was feeling better. And then I dragged two kids all over creation in heat advisory weather to get groceries and school supplies…and the tightness in my chest was back. My ear and throat were fine, so I was no longer thinking it was related to that. It got uncomfortable enough that I broke down and took half of the BP pill again, and I did the same today. Only, I still have this tightness and pressure in my chest.

I’m not exactly short of breath, but I do feel like I’m getting winded more often the last few days.

And believe me, I’ve been doing the wrong thing and Googling ‘delayed tetanus reactions’.

My family is going to disown me because when I don’t feel good my temper shoots up about 15 notches of insane, and I have been a bear this week.

So I finally called to schedule a doctor’s appointment. Naturally, I’m a new patient (since I haven’t bothered to try to find a doctor here). The receptionists brightly asks, “What do you want to see the doctor for, hon?”

*crickets*

Um, well, that’s kind of a long story, lady. I don’t know if I’m having problems with a medication I’ve been on for three years, if I’m developing tetanus having impaling myself with a rusty nail,  if I’m having a weird delayed reaction to a tetanus shot, or if there’s an invisible 50 pound weight sitting in the middle of my chest. Take your pick of those and make me an appointment, please…

5 thoughts on “How’s this for vague?

  1. Oh no! You should def go to the doctor when you aren’t feeling well, especially as a MOM! Not that I’m one to talk considering I never go either, not even when I’m so sure I have cancer for a few weeks, I still don’t go, then the ‘oh no I think I have cancer” thing passes. Also I frequently think I’m having heart attacks. Those always pass too. I should just go. I think I’m crazy or something! lol.

    Let us know what they say!!!!

  2. Hope you feel better quickly! I resist going to the doctor too … especially when I know they are going to say something I don’t like! And I hate that question! It’s like they want you to diagnose yourself before the doctor sees you!

Speak Your Mind!

