What Works For Me

Keeping up with a lot of blogs can be quite difficult!

Sometimes I’m simply amazed at how prolific some blogs can be…I can completely clear out my Google Reader and come back to 100+ posts in an hour. At one time, I really didn’t have any sort of a system for organizing the blogs in my reader, and sadly, the ‘mark all as read’ button was clicked more than once.

This became a problem when I started participating in blog hops…I just kept coming across more wonderful blogs! Not to mention that I at least check out and usually subscribe to people who comment on my posts…if they take the time to say something, they deserve a look-see! Can you see how crazy my Reader must have become?

Then I read a post  a while back about how to efficiently read blogs, by Cameron at Ingenue Mom. Now, I don’t have my Reader set up just like her suggestions…but it was a light bulb moment for me! I divided my subscriptions into separate folders…more or less according to how often I make sure to read the blogs in them. I have my blogs that I read daily, some every other day, and some a couple times a week. New-to-me blogs get there own folder, and when I think I have connected with one of their writers I “bump” them up a folder. I can’t tell you how much this has helped me keep up!

I keep up, and I try to comment as much as I can…but by the time I get a free moment these days to read blogs, my brain has turned to mush from entertaining and keeping the kidlets from trouble and I have trouble forming complete sentences. Michelle at Mommy Loves Stilettos summed it up nicely! Maybe once school is back in full swing I’ll have a little more me time during the day.

Recently, Beth commented on this post and let me know about making a blogroll right inside Google Reader! I can’t believe I have used it as long as I have and didn’t know that. It was super easy…just a matter of making a folder public. So I now have a blogroll page. (FYI, this isn’t all the blogs in my reader…just the ones that have made it into my regular reading!) The best part is that it will automatically update when I add a blog to it! I’m all about the easy…

Sound off…how do you keep up? Do you have a system for keeping up with blogs?

9 thoughts on “What Works For Me

  1. This has been something I have been thinking about a lot lately.

    I just read them from the feed on the blogs that I am following. It does get crazy and yes, I miss some posts, but for me it works…well, kind of. I think if I had a number of back up posts I haven’t read, I would go crazy. This way, when I find time, I just go through and see what has recently been posted.

  2. wow. I didn’t even know you could do that in reader. I just read all the blogs that show up on my reader. since I have no life, kids married, grandkids, I can usually squeeze in time during the day to read them all.

  3. What a cool idea. I didn’t even know Google Reader had that capability! I have so many amazing blogs to read it is SOO hard to keep up. Especially when I’m trying to take care of a three month old! I’m going to try that in reader and see if I like it….thanks for posting!!

  4. I’m overwhelmed most of the time! LOL! I do keep the blogs that I follow sorted into folders. The ones that I just recently followed usually make it to the *favorites* folder (really should give that a different name) so that I can be sure to check them out a few times and see if their blog style suits me. But even the favorites can be overwhelming so I read what I can and then hit *mark all as read* when I’m overwhelmed.

    Thanks for the link!

  5. I love it that my post helped you!! I’ve definitely found that organizing things into folders has helped! I’ve even had to separate my “Comment on These” folder into 2 because there are so many GREAT blogs that I’m reading & interacting with on a regular basis!!

    Also – I didn’t know about the blogroll with the google reader! I’m checking that out!!!

Speak Your Mind!

