While I was sleeping…

It’s a little ironic that I saw this week’s writing prompt, just a few days after The Girl tried to blind herself with bathroom cleaner…because this story is what immediately came into my mind!

I was 6 years old when I got my first bottle of fingernail polish. I was so happy! It was a birthday present from a little boy in my kindergarten class, and the bottle of polish was part of a Tinkerbell set. (funny, to see my daughter now so into Tinkerbell.)

I thought I was so grown up when my mom helped me do my nails with that new Tinkerbell polish. Too bad I only got that one little manicure out of the whole bottle.

A few nights after my 6th birthday, I went to bed as usual, getting my beauty sleep in before a big day of kindergarten. πŸ™‚ My precious fingernail polish was sitting on my dresser, right where my mom had put it after painting my nails.

At some point during the night, my little brother (who was maybe 3 at the time) sneaked into my room while I was sleeping. He snatched the bottle of polish off the dresser, and proceeded to dump some of it in my floor. (there was a patch of carpet that was stained pink until my parents started renovating a couple years ago.)

Apparently, dumping it out just wasn’t enough for my oh so sweet brother! He knew there was a little brush to use…so he used it.

On my eyes.

He used what little polish was left and brushed it across my closed eyes. Of course, I woke up, opened my eyes, and started screaming when the polish got in my eyes! Little Bro knew it was time to make his exit, ran back to his room, jumped in his bed and scrunched his eyes up tight, pretending to be asleep. Little faker!

My mom saw the empty bottle on my floor, and knew he’d been up. So I got the horrid eye wash out…the whole experience, from waking up with searing pain in my eyes to water being poured in them, completely traumatized me!

It was years before I got another bottle of fingernail polish…although I’m not sure if it was because of the memory of my burning eyes or my mother’s fear that her youngest child would pull a stunt like that again!

And people wonder why I now have eye issues.

[this post was inspired by this week’s prompt: This one time I was sleeping and…]

Mama's Losin' It

5 thoughts on “While I was sleeping…

  1. Oh my gosh! How awful. I can’t imagine!! That’s gross and weird and really sad. LOL.
    Maybe your mom should have painted his nails too, then he would have known where it goes. HA.

    This was great. I really enjoyed.

    Stopping by from MamaKats. πŸ™‚

Speak Your Mind!

