Prescription: Need More Sun

This last week has sucked big time. Just sayin’.

I’ve had the sinus infection from hell, for starters. I’ve been to the doctor twice in the last week, and have been taking a massive antibiotic (that I realized halfway through the course of, I was forgetting to take it twice a day).  I just finished the antibiotic this morning. The thing is, every time I start feeling good finally, I get sick again.

The only good thing to come out of these doctor visits is that they checked my thyroid level again (apparently it was time for that anyway) and it was good. So yay. One bright piece of news, I’ll take what I can get!

I thought I felt well enough Thursday to go to the gym for the first time in week. Yeah. Bad idea. I finished my workout with no problem, and then proceeded to almost pass out in the freaking parking lot 10 minutes later…scaring the crap out of my husband.  I’m still hoping they don’t have cameras out there…I’m serious, I was all up on the wall, slumping the sidewalk, praying I didn’t puke or hit the concrete. Needless to say, the gym has been last on my priorities list since then. It’s a sign. I’m meant to be lazy and get fat.

Probably a good reason I keep feeling sick is because this week, the winter illness streak finally hit my daughter. She got a cold just as I was feeling better…and I guess during taking care of her, I caught her cold. So then her cold seemed to get better, then I felt better for a couple days…then Friday morning, she woke up BARKING. So she missed a day of school, and I took her to the doctor for croup. We have been doing the oral steroid and nebulizers all weekend, and then Sunday morning, she wakes up complaining of her ear hurting really bad. So yet another trip to the doctor, and she is now on a super expensive antibiotic for an ear infection (because the cheaper one the doctor wanted to use kills my little girl’s stomach.)

If you have read my blog for a while, you may remember that the oral steroids turn my sweet daughter into a living nightmare child reminiscent of Damien from the Omen movies. Okay, so she doesn’t kill anybody, but she kicks, bites, hits, screams, and has refused to sleep for almost 48 hours in a row. It’s bad, people. Really bad. Thank God for my husband helping me with her this weekend, because I would have lost my mind if I’d had to handle her on my own.

I was disappointed, but not too surprised, to wake up this morning with more cold symptoms. I predict I will finish a whole box of Kleenex by the end of this day, and my eyes are streaming. (which means, no contacts…but my head is hurting because of the sinus pressure, so no glasses either…hello blindness)

So between all the unexpected co-pays and pharmacy visits, we are now about $175 in the hole. All the bills are going be to paid, thank goodness…but it’s going to be a very tight squeeze until next payday.

And this is obviously not the time for my laptop to start acting insane…the battery is dying a slow painful death anyway, so I usually have about a half hour before I HAVE to plug into the adapter…no biggie. But then this weekend, JB is surfing around like mad on his laptop, while mine won’t connect to ANYTHING. Sure, if he plugs me directly into the router thing (at least I think that’s what he did) I can use the internet. But that sort of defeats the purpose of BEING WIRELESS.

And hello, somebody stole my sunshine. I would like it back, please.

Dude. I just depressed myself.

2 thoughts on “Prescription: Need More Sun

  1. Oh no, that sounds horrible! I hope you and your daughter are better soon. Computer problems are such a headache. I am on my netbook right now because my computer keeps crashing (again!). Sometimes I feel like ditching technology. Isn’t it here to make our lives easier? I beg to differ.

    • Thanks! She’s feeling much better, I’m far from 100% but I’m up and functioning finally today! There are times when I wish I wasn’t so technology dependent…especially when things start going haywire 😉

Speak Your Mind!

