Pinewood Derby

decfeb 189

This past weekend was the Pinewood Derby for my son’s Cub Scouts pack. He was so excited about this race!

I, for one, was very happy to see this race day come and go…because it meant that I could finally reclaim my kitchen counters and the table on the back porch. I was getting very tired of seeing tools, paint cans, and wooden cars scattered everywhere….they had been working on the cars for over a month!

As you can see in the picture, he’s not only holding up his car…but also a trophy.  That’s because he won 1st place! Technically, he only raced other Webelos…but his car was the fastest of all the boys in the Tigers, Wolves, Bears, and Webelos groups.

I don’t think I have ever seen this kid be so excited about something in his whole life. I do believe he stopped breathing every time his car flew down the track, and he admitted his heart was racing too! I was so happy for him, and that my parents, who were visiting us over the weekend, were able to see it happen.

The thing is…my boys have been making Pinewood Derby cars for years. They make pretty, good looking cars that usually got my son trophies for best design…but the cars very rarely won actual races. I don’t know if something just clicked this year or what…but I thought he had one of the better looking cars, and they obviously figured out the speed part of the equation!

(This year’s car: a Camaro painted like the General Lee, complete with the Boy Scouts flag on the top of the car. Just in case anyone wondered.)

A couple more pics from the day:

Now? Now he gets to race his car at the District Pinewood Derby race in March. Naturally, he’s extremely excited about this!

And? In about a week or so, my kitchen surfaces and porch will be taken over again by the boys as they perfect the car even more…

2 thoughts on “Pinewood Derby

Speak Your Mind!

