The 3 Best Friends That Anyone Can Have

Having recently seen previews for The Hangover part 2…this ear splitting song is currently on repeat in my head. (not the best video clip, but it was the only one I could find that was just that one part.)

But I digress. This is all about my besties, the two friends who changed my life, and became a huge part of me. And yes, I chose two. No, they don’t really know each other. But it’s all good. 🙂

1) M. She is like the sister I never had. I met her when I was 22 years old, working night shift at the hospital. We didn’t exactly hit it off right away. Truthfully, I saw her as something of a little bad ass, for lack of a better term. (this might have, in part, been due to another coworker telling me to steer clear of M.) She could be a slacker, she could be foul mouthed, she could be downright mean…in her case, dynamite coming in small packages is very true. And then we were expecting our first babies within months of each other…she totally turned around. We became fast friends, and eventually we both made it to day shift together. We started hanging out outside of work, letting our baby boys play together. She is 6 years older than I am, and people were always asking us if we were sisters.

We have seen each other through some very hard times…losing pregnancies, breakups, one near divorce, one marriage, two job changes, burying her parents, and numerous health issues. Leaving our hometown was especially hard because I miss her just as much as my family. Just this week, I was crying on her shoulder (so to speak) again.

Mel and Me

2) R. I met R. when we were teenagers, when she and her mother moved into a house across the street and down a couple houses from mine. Along with a couple other neighborhood friends (that I had grown up with) we were inseparable. The majority of my free time was spent at her house, honestly. She was artsy, dramatic, and the polar opposite of me. We got jobs together during the summer, and I still remember some of the weird phrases and inside jokes that were hilarious to only us.

We have also been through some interesting days together. Breakups, moves, babies…although we fell out of touch with each other for quite some time. When we started talking again, we discovered that we’d both had our second babies within weeks of each other…and we got together for shopping trips a couple times. Unfortunately, life happens, and we fell somewhat out of touch again. This time, thank goodness for social media…we reconnected on MySpace, of all things. Then for a long time, it was occasional Facebook messages to catch up…

And currently, she is in the interviewing process for a job here…so she can move here! Words cannot express how excited I am for this to happen! We actually managed to get together for dinner this week when she was here for the interview. It was just like old times, we picked up right where we left off.

Sadly…no pictures of R. at the moment. Our friendship predates digital cameras, and I have no idea where my favorite picture of us might be. (for your imagination, picture two teenaged girls in an ice freezer, after chucking out bags of ice, the day the freezer in the grocery store we worked in died. You had to be there.)

Mama’s Losin’ It

4 thoughts on “The 3 Best Friends That Anyone Can Have

  1. How nice you have 2 best friends. So exciting that your friend might be moving closer to you. when that happens then you might get some pics of her.

  2. Awesome post about true friendship! Funny how people told you to steer clear of Mel and you two are the best of friends. I can’t stand people who bad mouth others and the people who actually listen to them. It’s alway best to find out for yourself and form your own judgement. Mel and Bekah sound like wonderful friends!

Speak Your Mind!

