It’s All About The Timing

Tomorrow is a huge day for me.

After two months of looking, applying, and getting increasingly frustrated, I have a job interview in the morning!

I got the call this past Friday afternoon, and for the rest of the day I was a complete mess. A happy mess, but still. It was so strange, and I think my husband was seriously considering a straitjacket for me. I just randomly started crying at the weirdest moments. He kept asking me wasn’t I happy about getting called for an interview? And I kept telling him that, yes, I was ecstatic about it…it’s just that for so long I have felt so completely down on myself because my job search was not going well at all.

I will be honest and say the job I’m interviewing for isn’t exactly for something I’ve done previously. Same general area, just a different part of it. It both scares me and excites me at the same time…it’s so major and new to me.

While going back to work at any job would be an adjustment after being home for almost two years, this one would be a huge adjustment…it’s night shift. Not thrilled about that, but should I get the job, it would likely mean that JB could get the kids on a bus for school before I get home from work, I sleep while they are at school, I am home when they get off the bus after school, and I can help them with their homework and maybe a quick early dinner before heading off to work again. It’s a part time job, meaning I’d likely only work 2-3 days a week, so my off days would be much like they are now, hopefully. It’s not ideal for me, but it would keep the kids out of daycare. (and it would get me back into the workforce, so maybe my next job search won’t be so painful.)

Even though I’ve been job hunting for since May, and yes, getting frustrated that nothing was happening…I have been trying so hard to remember God’s timing, that the right job would come along at the right time, and I just needed to be patient. It’s hard to be patient when you’re watching your husband get stressed out over paying the bills every month, knowing you’re not contributing a dime to help him. We’ve managed to get through somehow, which still amazes me sometimes. But really, this is wonderful timing. The kids go back to school in two weeks, eliminating the need for daytime childcare. It will also keep them busy enough that maybe they can stop laying the “We don’t want you to go back to work Mommy” guilt trips on me. (Yep, I’m already getting the guilt trip meltdowns from both of them, but mostly my son.)

Now…I just have to actually *get* the job… Smile

Speak Your Mind!

