Bookish: January 2013

1. Branded (Fall of Angels #1)

This book started out a little slow to me, and I actually started it around mid-December. I read a couple books in between starting and finishing Branded. It did finally start to pick up by the middle of the book, and it got a lot better. I get frustrated that it seems like all I read these days are series books…but even so, I’ll probably check out Book #2 of this one.

2. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir

I wanted to like this book. I really did. But…I just didn’t. Yes, the author could get quite vulgar with the language, and that might be a turn off for some people…that part didn’t bother me, because, Hello? I cuss like a sailor anyway. True, it definitely had a couple chapters that had me laughing, and for a very brief moment in time, I was completely relating to the GPS chapter until it just kept on going. The book just felt really disjointed to me, and I pretty much had to make myself finish it.

3. The Casual Vacancy

I admit, I’m a total Harry Potter geek. In that regard, I love J.K. Rowling, and was so eager to read any new book she had written. But OMG. This book took forever to read, not only because it was crazy long, but it was just so boring. As much as I adore J.K. Rowling, I don’t recommend this one.

4. City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2)

I’m desperately trying to find stand alone books to read, and get away from all the series books…but this series was recommended to me by a good friend who tends to share my taste in reading. I read City of Bones, the first book in the series, in December, and I liked it well enough. This second book, though…I could hardly put it down, and read it in about 2 days (one of those days I stayed up until 2 am to finish it). I *loved* this book, and can’t wait to read book 3.

2 thoughts on “Bookish: January 2013

Speak Your Mind!

