Bookish: February 2013

To look at the number of books I read this month, you couldn’t tell…but it was actually a slow reading month for me. Starting a new job and working an extra night every week will do that for a girl Winking smile 

1.) Snow White Blood Red ( A Grimm Diaries Prequel #1 )

I saw the Grimm Diaries series on GoodReads, and was immediately interested…a new twist on fairy tales? Count me in. But apparently they weren’t published yet, so instead I picked up the prequels set. SWBR was the first one…and I liked it well enough. I wasn’t expecting Snow White to be a vampire, but it’s definitely an interesting concept!

2.) Ashes to Ashes and Cinder to Cinder ( A Grimm Diaries Prequel #2 )

The second short story in the series. I hated this one! The concept is appealing…but the writing was full of typos and grammar errors that made it difficult to read. And I thought Loki was a jerk.

3.) Beauty Never Dies ( A Grimm Diaries Prequel #3 )

This story was interesting…Peter Pan and Sleeping Beauty in love? Sleeping Beauty is a vampire? Hmmm.

4.) Ladle Rat Rotten Hut ( A Grimm Diaries Prequel #4 )

This short story featured Little Red Riding Hood, as Death/The Grim Reaper. More typos, grammatical mistakes…but the story was interesting! After reading 4 of the 6 short prequels, I had a new library book come in…and have yet to return to the final two.

5.) Splintered

I guess I was on a fairy tale twist kick this month! This one is about Alyssa, the latest “cursed” girl in the Liddell family…of ALICE Liddell, who created chaos in Wonderland. Alyssa goes back to Wonderland to right the wrongs to save her mother, Alison, who has been a patient in an asylum for years, and to break the curse on her family. I really liked the story, and the book was simply beautiful. That said, I was annoyed by the love triangle between Alyssa, her best friend Jeb, and her Wonderland friend Morpheus. It’s not often that I disagree with who the heroine ends up with…but I did for this book.

6.) City of Glass (Mortal Instruments)

So my husband made a comment while I was reading this one about the library tag saying it was a “teen” book. Whatever! Since when has that ever stopped me from reading something? Teen, Young Adult…if it’s good, I’ll read it. And the truth is…I have loved every book in this series. This book was a pretty long one, and since I was reading it during the time that I was also starting my new job…it took me a while! The way it ended, I thought it might be the last book in the series…but there are two more, and I’m putting them on hold at the library now!

2 thoughts on “Bookish: February 2013

  1. I’ve been using the library lately too. Am about 3/4 done with Delirium by Lauren Oliver and yes, it’s a YA book. I also read The Giver (“Juvenile” fiction) a few weeks ago and although I really wasn’t all that into it, I kind of want to know what happens next and will probably end up checking out the next book in the series from the library. I haven’t read Mortal Instruments yet but hear good stuff about it. I do think I’m in dire need of a happy book because I’ve been reading a LOT of dystopian/apocalyptic fiction lately and it’s depressing me. Along with watching The Walking Dead and all the awesome characters on Downton Abbey dying, I need a mood lifter!

    • You do need a pick me up!! lol I have really enjoyed the Mortal Instruments series so far. The first book took me a little while to get into, but it ended up great! That one is being made into a movie too 🙂

Speak Your Mind!

