The Ring

I was having a conversation recently with some coworkers about jewelry…after one woman related a story of a friend’s home being broken into and her entire jewelry box stolen. Horrific! Her story got me to thinking about two things I wear every single day.

I have a ton of jewelry. So much that a couple years ago, I was given a rather large jewelry armoire to store it in, in place of the two small wooden boxes I had been cramming everything into for years. Some pieces I’ve bought myself, other pieces were gifts (my mother continues to give me silver necklaces with some sort of charm or pendant dangling from them, with matching earrings that all look extraordinarily similar to the previous year’s gift.) I even have quite a bit that I have made for myself.

That said, I wear hardly any of it. I will usually put in a pair of earrings when I go somewhere…but I tend to wear the same two pairs over and and over. I rarely wear necklaces anymore (something I can’t seem to make my loving mother understand.) Bracelets and watches tend to annoy me more than anything.

Some women *love* for their husbands to give them jewelry. Me? Not so much. I browse jewelry stores and see things that I do like, and I may comment on those things. “Oh, that’s pretty!” “Isn’t that necklace beautiful?” Many years ago, JB would hear me say those things and immediately bolt to whatever store had the item that I’d mentioned, buy it, and present it to me lovingly. And I’d love it, and be polite enough to wear it faithfully for a while. But eventually, everything makes it way into my jewelry armoire to remain shut away practically forever. I think he finally just realized that I’d get much more use out of other things. I really don’t even remember the last time JB bought me any sort of jewelry, honestly. And I’m perfectly okay with that.

During that conversation with coworkers, I said that the only pieces of jewelry I own that I would truly be upset over losing were the two things that I wear 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. My engagement and wedding rings.

Rings

The diamond surrounded wedding band was given to me almost 14 years ago, and the larger match to it adorns my handsome husband’s finger every day. I adore our matching wedding rings! (Although I admit, they are a pain to clean.)

That little marquise cut diamond ring was given to me 18 years ago. It has been a fixture on my left ring finger ever since that day in August 1995, the summer after we graduated from high school. It was the ring I proudly flashed at everyone I knew when I announced that I was engaged! It was worn dangling from a necklace when I was pregnant with our first child, and my finger was too swollen to wear it. It has been resized three times over the years: when it was first given to an 18 year old tiny girl whose rings size was barely a 5; once a size up to fit when I was a little heavier; and then a size down when I lost weight and it kept sliding off my finger.

I fear the multiple resizes have weakened the band, however. I’ve noticed recently that the ring seems to be constantly slipping around my finger…which can be fairly inconvenient at times, especially when I’m at work. Yesterday, I took it off long enough to rub some lotion on my hands…and saw that the band of my beloved engagement ring is bent into an odd shape. I have no idea what I could have done to bend it this way, but it explains why it fits so strangely now.

I’m not sure what to do now. My sister-in-law tells me that I could totally ask for a new ring for my anniversary, on the grounds that the current one is damaged. I’m pretty sentimental about it though, so a new ring doesn’t necessarily appeal to me. I have thought about somehow doing a “jacket” type of thing with it, maybe combining the two rings. My mom did that with hers and I always loved it, but I’m not sure it would work for mine. Then again, I suppose I could have the diamond put into a new setting?

My damaged ring has me pretty upset, since without it I feel practically naked!

 

 

Mama’s Losin’ It

20 thoughts on “The Ring

  1. I lost both my wedding and engagement rings once and felt horrific about it until I talked to my MIL. She very matter of fact-ly said, “oh I’ve lost 2 of those things. It’s probably covered by your insurance.” It was, and I got over it. You would too.

  2. I, too, have a jewelry box full of jewelry I hardly wear — my wedding band and engagement ring the exception.
    Yours is beautiful, by the way!
    I completely get the sentimental thing — maybe they could recreate the ring if there is a problem with it? Or, like you said, the diamond can be fitted into another ring.
    Oh, and i love that you guys have matching wedding bands!

    Stopping in from Mama Kat’s.

  3. Take it too a jeweller. My engagement ring was so thin, I though it would break, I did not want a new set…the jeweller welded? the two rings together with more gold and they are one unit now, very sturdy. I forget to put earrings in now that I am retired. The jewlery box sits unused

  4. I am not a jewelry person either. I’d rather spend the money on something more practical and the way i see it, shiny rocks are not practical.

    Love the blog. I’m also an avid reader, so I’ll be keeping up with those posts.

    • thanks 🙂 My husband has learned that I’m not one of those people who think gift cards are impersonal. I happen to LOVE them, because then I can buy whatever I want!

  5. I’m really sentimental about my rings too. My wedding band has always been a size or so too big but I told DH I didn’t want it sized smaller until we were done having kids so I could wear it on my swollen finger.
    We’re done having kids (I think…) but the thought of cutting into, and losing part of, my most precious possession breaks my heart.

    • My wedding band was always a little big, but after having the kids it fits my finger pretty well now. My husband actually surprised me with the most recent resize of the engagement ring, I probably wouldn’t have had it done again myself.

  6. I’m not much a of a jewelry girl, either, except for my wedding bands and earrings. Occasionally, I’ll grab a bracelet or a necklace from the box, but I find they get in my way more than anything. I love my rings – Hub and I have matching ones, too, and very similar to yours. He wears his 24/7; I wear mine everywhere except at home. I used to wear them all the time, but when our daughter was born, I kept scratching her with the diamond so I generally take them off at home. Anyway, I understand the sentimental part – not sure I’d want to let go of mine. I had to have a diamond reset in the wedding band once and I hated every minute the jeweler had the ring.

    • I did take the engagement ring off because I noticed the band was even more bent than before. It feels so strange to not be wearing it. I will have to look into getting something done to it, either fixed or using the diamond in another setting.

  7. It’s beautiful! I can relate to this post so much. I don’t wear a ton of jewelry, but I can’t live without my wedding ring. I received a diamond rig as a gift from my mother a few years ago that makes my wedding ring look like a bubble gum machine find, but I just can’t bring myself to wear anything that doesn’t mean something to me. I have a little bitty diamond, and I love it!

Speak Your Mind!

