Review: Gone Girl

Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn

I’m not big on buying books these days; at one time, I bought books every time I saw one that I thought looked interesting. The result? An overloaded shelf full of books that I’d probably never read again. In fact, I sold a ton of books at a recent yard sale. Sure, I have my favorites that remain on my shelf, and my Kindle has oodles of books that I have downloaded (some read, some not.)

That said…I am a frequent flyer at the library! I either check out books the old fashioned way, or use the library’s e-book service (when I can actually find the books I want in e-book format there.)

I put Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn on my e-book hold list about 6 months ago. I kept hearing people say it was completely awesome, and I’m all for completely awesome books! Well, it was a good thing I found other things to read while I waited for Gone Girl, because it took MONTHS to get it.

I will fully admit that it took me quite a while to really get into this book, and I was wondering just what it was that everybody thought was so completely awesome…because I wasn’t getting it! If you haven’t already read it, let me make a suggestion: when you think the story isn’t really going anywhere, KEEP GOING! It’s worth it to get to the end of this twisted book!

Nick and Amy have been married for 5 years, and on the day of their 5th anniversary Amy goes missing.

I spent the majority of the book thinking Nick was an absolute jerk, and he just HAD to have something to do with her disappearance.

Amy’s character wasn’t the most likeable, either…I thought she was a spoiled brat, honestly. And then I started to feel bad for her, with the bad turn in her marriage and then her disappearance.

Then BAM…literally at the halfway point of the book, everything changes.

If you follow me on Twitter, perhaps you read some quotes from the book over the last week or so. I don’t often do that when I’m reading books, but this one had so many great lines! Here are some of my favorites:

“Oh, mother of pearl, I think I had too much wine.”
“Sleep is like a cat: It only comes to you if you ignore it.”
“One should never marry a man who doesn’t own a decent set of scissors. That would be my advice. It leads to bad things.”
“People say children from broken homes have it hard, but the children of charmed marriages have their own particular challenges.”
“There’s a difference between really loving someone and loving the idea of her.”

And that, my friends, is all I’m going to give you. Because this is one you will just have to read for yourself! Trust me on this one, it’s twisted, shocking, and mind blowing all at the same time. This is one I actually plan to buy to keep on my Kindle…it was that good!

Even better? I hear it’s going to be made into a movie. This is one I definitely want to see played out on the big screen!

{Gone Girl on GoodReads}

{image credit: Amazon}

4 thoughts on “Review: Gone Girl

  1. Stacey, I am always looking for a good book to read. I am so darn tenacious that even if I don’t like the book, I finish it just for the challenge. Usually I can find something redeeming in it. Glad to see you like this one. BTW love the quotes! M

    • It’s a rare event that I don’t finish a book, even if I am completely bored with it. It might take me months to plow through it, but I finish it! When I mentioned that this book was starting off slow for me, someone suggested I keep going because it was going to get much better. Glad I did!

Speak Your Mind!

