Review: Oz the Great and Powerful

Oz The Great and Powerful

 

It’s not often that my daughter sees a preview for a movie on TV and begs to go see it. But that’s exactly what she did when she first saw the trailer for Oz the Great and Powerful!

 

My original intention was for all of us to go see it opening weekend as a family. However, that particular weekend, my son spent the night at a friend’s house, and they went to see it. He came home saying, “I’m not gonna give it away, but it was awesome!”

 

This past weekend, my boys went on a camping trip. So I decided it would be girls’ night at the movies…so we saw this movie Saturday together.

 

We both LOVED it! I don’t do 3D movies, so I can’t vouch for that…but the colors and the vision were simply stunning. Mila Kunis, Rachel Weisz, and Michelle Williams were all so beautiful. (I think I now have a girl crush on Michelle Williams.) James Franco, while not my favorite actor, was actually really great in this movie as well. What little you see of Zach Braff was pretty funny…but I did love him as little Finley.

 

Oz had its funny moments, its heartwarming moments, and yes, its sort of scary moments. My daughter has this odd thing about witches and step-mothers in movies…don’t ask me why she’s terrified of step-mothers, it’s not like she has one…so when the truly wicked witch makes her first appearance, my sweet girl cringed and hid her face in my shoulder!

 

This is a wonderful movie, a definite must see! Two thumbs up from the Diva Smile

Speak Your Mind!

