Picky Eater Approved: Ranch BLT Pasta Salad

Ranch BLT Pasta Salad

I am so in love with this salad recipe! That’s not something you will hear me say very often…I’m not usually big on salads of any kind. But this particular one combines some of my favorite things: pasta, BACON, and Ranch dressing. Mmm…

My kids are picky eaters. Naturally, they are rarely picky about the same things! What makes meal planning for my family even harder is that both of my kids can love something the first several times I make it, and then suddenly that same dish ends up on their Do Not Eat list.

I was scouring Pinterest recently looking for new recipes that I thought they might enjoy eating. I discovered this recipe for Ranch BLT Pasta Salad, as posted at Cinnamon Spice and Everything Nice. I immediately pinned it, and the next day I was in the grocery store picking up the ingredients that I didn’t already have on hand.

I won’t post the entire recipe here, so if it looks like something you want to try, go visit her site and use her instructions! I will tell you that I have since made this twice, and adjusted it a little bit to make my finicky children happy.

  • I used Rotini pasta both times…my daughter likes the curly noodles.
  • The first time I used Romaine lettuce; the second time, Iceburg. I think I prefer Romaine for this.
  • The second time, I actually shredded my Swiss cheese…because my oldest complained when I cut it into cubes before.
  • My first attempt with this salad, I used the red onion. Not sure if the one I got was particularly hot, but it almost overpowered the rest of the salad. Second time, I skipped the red onion, and used a bit of white onion instead…just for a bit of flavor and crunch!

This salad is super easy to make, and pretty quick too! It’s been our Tuesday night dinner two weeks in a row, because Tuesdays are notoriously crazy for our family. It has quickly become “Pink Book” worthy…which simply means, it was written into my pink cookbook!

signatureI’m always on the hunt for new recipes! Do you have a favorite go-to recipe for choosy eaters?

Speak Your Mind!

